I Forge Iron

Need help to identify this legless post vise

KentMat

Hi everyone, I am a newbie here and look for help to identify this legless post vise (?) offered to me. The vise is about 50cm long, and opening at 10cm. Marked England. I have tried but couldn’t find any info on this. Maybe someone can help. Is it a legless post vise? or what is its name?suggestion about value also welcomed. Is US$ 200 too much for it? The vise looks quality. Many thanks in advance.

A26D15DF-45BD-4EFE-948F-D6B8C2CD70DC.jpeg

82273593-8DE5-4A1A-B0AE-35065EF19AD8.png

E8772AFF-A94D-4031-A499-1BB2F6742A0D.png

EF9AC943-7061-4E5F-B2CF-C793ABBE179C.jpeg

49FD7238-9E42-4928-A2CF-94F85658598D.jpeg

0C3ADCC8-CCC4-4F03-A40E-45782C30BA87.jpeg

The company is still in business today under the Vaughn name, they sell anvils vises, swage blocks and all kinds of other tools and equipment.
their newer vises are a different design than yours,

but you may be able to contact them an see if they still have any information, drawings, measurements or pictures on that style vise and what the leg looked like. 

Your very welcome, I hope they can help you, enjoy your new tool! 

before you get a warning though from the mods you might edit that quote out since it was the post right before yours, it helps keep the bandwidth down, 

also you might edit your profile to show your location that way others can see where you is!
And maybe you can meet up with other smiths in your area! 

Shouldn’t be hard to figure out what thread it takes if your not able to get information from the company,

you can always pack it into the local hardware store and start trying bolt and pipe threads until you zero in On what threads in.

Then buy the die and find some stock, lock that dude down in a pipe vise and thread it! 

But Thomas idea is a lot easier and faster if you don’t already have some threading tools or a vise that can hold round stock.