I Forge Iron

Press Handheld Tooling

Jon Kerr

Hi all,

I have a Coal Ironworks 12ton press on order to me in the UK, should be here this week.

Im crazy excited and also very nervous. I've never used a hydraulic press of any kind before so I'm expecting a steep learning curve and hoping not to injure myself in the process!

If anyone has any tips I'd greatly appreciate them.

My first, possibly daft, question is- can you use handled tools under the press in the same way you would under a power hammer?

Hi Jon- I recently picked up a used Coal 12 ton and am very happy with it. here's what I found:

-Not really much of a learning curve if you have been forging a while and understand how metal moves. The machine will let you know it's capabilities and limits pretty quick. Hydraulic control is a simple up/down on the handle, and once you reach limit, just let go and reverse. The unit should come with flat and fullering dies, and they are H13 as Thomas suggests. The main use for me is to break down larger stock to the point I can do the final fine tuning with anvil and hammer. The gentleman I purchased from did pattern welding and included home made squaring dies. I made a few tooling holders for 3/4" and 1" dia. punches, ez pz if you have access to a welder or weldor.  The press also came with a few other home made dies that I am still working thru. I keep a spare ratchet with a 3/4" socket on the table for die changes. Once you get it set up, just get some metal hot and run it thru its paces.