I Forge Iron

Cast steel vs ductile iron vise?

SMP

Hello all,

I am a home mechanic/woodworker/ jack of all trades kind of guy starting to do some basic blacksmithing as a hobby.  Looking at some machinists/mechanics/general vises at Home Depot that can fill my need for a general purpose vise that can handle mechanic work, home repair, steel pipe, and some basic blacksmithing and metal work.  I see a few that look decent for a decent price.  I know cast iron is not great, a lot of reviews show them cracking etc.  So I was trying to narrow it down between some that are "structural cast steel" or or ductile iron.  Yost also has one that is Austempered ductile iron.  Not sure what that is.  Some have 5 year warranties while some have lifetime casting warranties.  So thought I would ask here which material would be good for some light duty blacksmithing.  Note, I do have a xxxxxx Harbor Freight anvil as well as piece of train track that I am slowly turning into an anvil shaped object.  So the vise would be mainly for when I need something clamped, more like heating up steel bar to bend(for example current project requires making some 90 degree bends in 1/4" x 3" steel bar).  Was hoping someone could answer this for me as I am not finding a clear answer searching.

Thanks in advance!

Steve

Welcome to IFI... An ASO is cast iron that looks like a London pattern anvil. Exactly what the HF anvils are. Your RR track which is steel is an anvil (only improvised) and it sounds like you are on the way to improving it. I suggest looking through the Improvised anvil threads for the best way to use it.

If I were in the market for a vise, I would go with the ductile iron over cast iron. There are some good anvils being made out of it. As far as structural cast steel, I've never heard of it being used in the craft and don't know how well it would be for a vise.