I Forge Iron

Vice Restoration w/ Electrolysis

AngryOnion

Hi, so I bought a large bench vise and want to clean it up. I think electrolysis is the way to go, but I've never done it before. How big of a piece of scrap do I need in comparison to what I'm putting in the tank? I've seen videos of people using laundry crystals, is there any certain ratio to use, and is there a special kind to get? Thanks for the help.

PXL_20210729_140103688.jpg

PXL_20210729_135710183.NIGHT.jpg

PXL_20210729_135531819.NIGHT.jpg

Edited by AngryOnion
Add pics

Probably 3 or 4 ea. 1/2" or larger rods or bars...scrap will work.  I used old rebar.  Angle iron, about any scrap you have.  Make them any length, just so that they are a few inches at least out of the electrolyte water.  Be sure to use the washing soda, not baking soda for the mix.

I would use about 1/4 cup to a gallon of water...there are all kinds of recipies out there of the ratios to use.  Some use only a few tablespoons per gallon.

A good pressure washing before you start is suggested.  It removes any grease, oil, and junk so the solution can get to the metal.

DO NOT allow the electrodes to touch the subject being derusted.

Use a wire to connect all the parts being derusted together electrically.  Touch works but not as well as a good connection. 

Electrolysis is mostly directional, line of sight, so several electrodes are better than just one.  After a while you will want to remove the electrodes and the subject being derusted from the solution and wash and scrub off any debris. 

Derust in a well ventilated area.  

You can tell it is working by the small bubbles being produced and the crud that floats to the surface.

When finished, as soon as you pull the subject from the water, apply something to protect the metal from the air or you will get flash rust.

I had never heard of this so I had to look it up and it’s a pretty interesting way to remove rust, I’ll have to try it myself sometime,