I Forge Iron

Propane Costs and Refills UK - Starting Up - Looking for advice

Aappleyard

So I am looking at getting into Blacksmithing here in the UK in Yorkshire and I am trying to work out a few things before I start buying bits to get started but the hardest thing I am finding is information on Propane in the UK.

How much is the average cost for a Bottle of Propane is quite easy as I can google that and the prices are about £40 for 19KG.

How long would someone expect that 19KG of Propane to last in a Propane Forge?

How easy is it to get refills of Propane?

Is it cheaper to get Propane refills than buying a whole new bottle and if so what is the price differene?

Is propane in the UK more expensive than in the USA?

I am very new to it all and looking for a bit of advice.

Welcome to IFI! You should put your location in your profile settings, as we probably won't remember Yorkshire once it gets buried in a thread.

I don't have any answers to your questions, other than to recommend you contact local dealers to see what they charge and what their refill policies are. With any luck, some of our UK members will be along soon to offer UK-based advise.

Good luck!

Apple; your questions tend to be indeterminate: exp can you tell me what mpg *my* vehicle gets?  How much propane your forge uses depends on the forge and how you are using it. 

How easy it is to get refills depends on LOCATION; are you 400 meters from a place that does refills or is it 60 km? 

Refills are almost always cheaper than buying a new bottle; as you are not paying for another bottle! (a 20# Bottle, appx 4.6 american gallons, costs about US$45 new, and gas at US$3.75 a gallon; trade ins usually run higher or come with less gas; so refills are the way to go!)

Is there anyone in BABA, British Artist Blacksmith Association, in your area that can help you with location specific information?