I Forge Iron

good bye old friend

Its almost time for my old shop to be demolished for a few reasons and its upsetting people, I have been using it since 1998 and almost full time since 2007, new shop will be 100M on the other side of the hill overlooking the Pacific ocean and be bigger with a higher roof.

I have no idea on the layout but my anvil stand and vice stand will be cemented into the floor and power hammer needs a 4 ft footing, will have fluorescent lights more power points, better bench, coal forge will have flue going through the wall and not the roof as this caused a lot of problems with water leaks in the current shop. I wont have windows as I smashed most of them my mistake.

I think the coal forge could go in one of the corners and power hammer could go along one of the long walls and I would like to have my big leg vice not so hard up to the wall, I have to have it underway in a couple of weeks.            

22829207_1685555474838410_3447044501146492619_o.jpg

• Replies 70
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

If you have a metal roof; can you put in a couple of fiberglass panels to get free light?   That's what I have out here in the desert, I spaced them away from the forge so it's slightly dimmer; but still plenty of light to work by.

I'm going with LEDs instead of fluorescents as they will pay for themselves quickly and provide a better light.

I had a clear bit of corogated stuff in the roof once and got rid of it, made it 1000 degrees and leaked, LEDs are the most horrible light source ever, they brake down and don’t last, plastic junk. There is a fluorescent street light on my other shed and it has been outside since 1958 and had new tubes 15 years ago

Edited by Mod30
Remove excessive quote.