I Forge Iron

Dies for Guillotine from forklift Tine

Hey guys. I want to build a guillotine tool. If I were to use fork lift tine for the dies do you think I should re heat treat entirely after grinding in the shapes I want? Or do you think as is they won’t be so hard as to chip and be dangerous? I have little to no heat treat knowledge by the way lol. Won’t they get tempered back a bit from the heat from grinding also? Making them a bit softer…

I THINK forklift tines are entirely too heavy for guillotine dies. I got a long lifetime's worth of guillotine tool stock from one semi leaf spring, even factoring in the areas with micro fractures. It's a bit over 1/2" thick and a PITA grinding some of the finer dies. 

Think of the base, frame and tracks.

Frosty The Lucky. 

Fork lift tine is a bit to vague for a good answer.  Those come in a variety of sizes, length, width and thickness.  Thus the actual weight is over a large spectrum.  Are you talking about 3" wide by 24" L?  6" wide, 60" length or perhaps some other monster tine?  Perhaps you meant to say in your first post that you are considering a piece of one.

Those will indeed make for some serious dies. If you end up going for it you can choose to heat treat them or leave them in their as cut and ground condition. Either way will be fine IMHO. The thing I would consider is whatever size die you end up making is going to dictate the size of all your dies in the future. When you run out of the section that is ~1/2" - 3/4" thick you are going to need to either source another material that fits or do some SERIOUS grinding/forging to bring the other sections to that same dimension. 

Depending on how many sets of dies you're trying to make that might not be a big deal. The only dies I use often are a butchering set and a flat set for making tenons.

Do you think the taper of the fork is going to be an issue?