I Forge Iron

Is an N.C. Tool anvil good for a beginner?

Hello all just join and and I am brand new to blacksmithing. I am buying my first anvil and wondered if the NC knifemakers would be of good quality for the money I can spend or should I go with another brand? Any info would be excellent thanks

• Replies 65
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

We need more information.  Are you going to make horse shoes, do ornamental ironwork, industrial blacksmithing, farm blacksmithing, general blacksmithing, make knives, etc.

What is your budget?  

If you are just starting A collection of improvised anvils,  Anvils: A beginner buyers guideThe new price standard for anvilsList of makers currently producing anvils, and other topics should give you some answers.

That's not to imply that you need to learn on something else before you forge on a London pattern anvil, though. Think of it more like you can learn to drive with a compact car, a pickup truck, a sedan, or even (as in my case) an old farm tractor (man, that thing had a finnicky clutch). Once you know how to drive, you can then choose the vehicle that best suits your needs and budget. 

The NC Tool knifemaker anvil is made of ductile cast iron and is actually more like a farrier's anvil (very thick horn, very thin heel). It's certainly inexpensive, but I would recommend putting that same amount of money into an improvised anvil, hand tools, fuel, and steel. Once you've developed some skill, you can then think about your anvil with a much more realistic idea of what you'll need and what the best bang for your buck would be.

If you really want to start with a new anvil, one of the cast steel Chinese "Acciaio" anvils is probably a better bet, as it's cheaper, arguably better material, and a better shape for general blacksmithing. One of our members did an unboxing and review post, which you can read HERE.