I Forge Iron

Questions on Converting a University Surplus Furnace

A couple years ago I bought an electric furnace from a university's surplus auction. I believe something exploded inside the furnace as some of the silicon-carbide heating elements were in pieces and metal was strewn all over the inside of it. Anyway, I have no experience with this type of metal working, though I do weld and have experience with aluminum fabrication, but I would like to get into forging and learn about it. And so, I am trying to figure out how to convert it into a usable furnace. I'm not quite sure how to do that, so if anyone has any suggestions I would love to hear them. Should I try to keep it electric, or should I convert it to gas? Is the interior too big? Should I weld a stand to set it on its side? Is it even possible to use this as a furnace? I cant 

Attached are photos of the furnace, it measures almost 3 ft external diameter, its about 4 ft tall, has an inner diameter of ~15 inches and an inner height of 19 inches. The heating elements are silicon-carbide and reach down to the interior floor of the furnace. Not shown is a 12 inch tall circular metal grate that I guess was supposed to prevent people from touching the heating elements. I'm not sure what the red band is around it, there's nothing inside it.

IMG_7327.thumb.jpeg.b0a58bcabc11eedfa999724a2c706945.jpegIMG_7328.thumb.jpeg.1f6d1c844dfa200bd4b3484f5d4fc676.jpegIMG_7331.thumb.jpeg.d1692fbcfa9df82a84ee043a9392c29d.jpegIMG_7333.thumb.jpeg.75e74f72192852dd61c06f00ba2b9cd3.jpeg

-Ben

IMG_7329.jpeg

First: what do you want the furnace to do?  Melt Metal? Heat treat blades? Be a forge?

Is the current insulation hard or soft?

Would your location support a massive electrical draw for such a furnace?

Can you pay for  massive electric usage?

Need to know such things to make good suggestions.