I Forge Iron

Can this sway be repaired?

I’ve been using my anvil for around 2 years now. It’s one I bought second hand without really knowing too much about it at the time.

It has no maker’s mark, a protrusion on the side I have been told was used for making carriage clips and comes in (as best I can tell) around the 360lb mark.

It has square handling holes at the waist and I think I can see a feint clone around the face making me suspect it’s wrought with a welded face.

unfortunateky it has about 2.5mm of sway at the worst point which is causing me a few issues getting things flat and when welding multiple bars together (I mostly make knives)

Can anybody tell me if it’s possible (or even worth) repairing this either by removing material or adding to the face with weld? (I know it’s not as simple as that)

many thanks 

9803A59F-4C2E-47DF-9637-A76DEBC292CA.jpeg

A89F7C3A-F81E-4473-86AB-02C2E2E1A06A.jpeg

23D96239-A314-4289-9AE0-1E2552F3E5FF.jpeg

DFC10FB0-9848-4D36-B080-50D1B17850DA.jpeg

AA2A4C7D-AC80-45F3-BB94-4A3CDC9B199E.jpeg

That anvil face is in good condition, dont modify the face by grinding or welding it would probably just make things worse. Sway in an anvil is not a problem at all. The sway isnt stopping you from straightening bars, it does the opposite, it actually helps in getting bars straight

I'd say that if you need a dead flat surface for some tasks; a chunk of steel with a flat side will stand in for your anvil. 

I have an anvil with a similar sway and have welding a good portion of my body weight in billets on it with no problems; how is it causing you issues?---Of course I weld the billets going across the face and not down the length of the anvil face.

There is an accepted method for repair; the Gunther/Schuler method; but it has to be followed EXACTLY to get good results.