I Forge Iron

Did I damage my anvil

I am a newbie who is just starting out. I received an anvil from a family member who was using it as a yard ornament. They had painted it to prevent rusting so when it was given to me, without thinking I took an angle grinder to it to remove the paint. While I did not go full dumb and used a full blown grinding disc, I still used an abrasive sanding/polishing disc. I stripped the paint off and did the rest with a wire wheel. 

The anvil still has (I believe) a nice ring to it and it still seems to have decent rebound. However, when watching videos of others making knives, it doesn't appear to have the same level of rebound as the anvils in various videos. Did I possibly destroy it in my innocent attempt to rid it of the paint?

As far as make, I have not the slightest idea. This was found in an abandoned barn at the edge of a family members property roughly 20 years ago. I remember moving it around much easier then. O to be young again. The only markings I found were what appears to be 112, which I assume is its weight.

20210327_162628.jpg

I'd be pretty surprised if you'd done it damage, didn't do it any good but no damage. Hot steel and a hammer will make that fine old lady's face shine. 

If you put the lighting at a shallow angle when you take pics the surface textures like stamped characters will be much easier to see. Wipe it down with chalk, flower, etc. and gently wipe it off is another trick for bringing out details, doing them both is better still. The next step is a crime lab type thing and not really worth the effort. ;)

Frosty The Lucky.