I Forge Iron

Metal tempering without an oven

Hello I'm new to the whole knife making process and when I wached all the videos on knife making they always temper their knifes after quenching in an oven. And I currently don't have an oven and I wondered if its possible to temper a blade in a campfire forge and how hard would it be

Hello;

Yes, it's possible, and it isn't hard. Clean up a part so you can see bare steel; and allow the heat to creep up slowly, and judge by the tempering colours. That's everything below dark grey in the picture below.

GlowChart-sm.gif

Also remember that the thin edge will heat faster than the thick spine producing exactly the opposite temper than you want. 

I've tempered with a small cheap propane torch playing it on the spine and running the colours to the edge and then quenching.  I've also taken a chunk of heavy scrap steel and heated it in the forge to red and placed the spine on it leaving the tip hanging off in the air.  What I like best is to use tempering tongs---tongs with a set of cross bars welded onto the tips that you heat in the forge and grab the spine of the knife with to transfer heat.

So there is no kitchen oven anywhere near you?  If the blade is well cleaned after quenching---and especially if you quenched in a vegetable oil then there should be no issues tempering it in a kitchen oven.  Get an oven thermometer as kitchen ovens are notorious for being "off" from the markings on the dial and remember that ovens cycle the heat so they may go too high---too low.  Heating a container of sand can help get a more constant temperature. (Stick your blade into the sand.)

You may notice that I prefer to differential temper for plain HC steels.  The high alloy blades get sent to a pro!  I will sometimes use an oven for snap tempering. (Tempering to a lower temp to make sure a freshly quenched blade doesn't self destruct waiting for the full tempering cycles.)