I Forge Iron

Holland 190lb Anvil Review Pros and Cons Style

Arteus

After doing alot of research, a week ago, I finally got my New Holland 190lb anvil.  I'm a newbie, but I have wanted to start blacksmithing for over a decade.  My previous job included a lot of travel, and I was also probably foolishly) adamant about starting with a good anvil before I did anything else.

Overall, I absolutely love it and think it will last me practically forever. Here are the Pros and Cons as I see them:

PROS

1.  Made of cast H13 steel, hardened to 52-55 rockwell.

2.  Face plate machine ground perfectly flat.

3.  Base machine ground perfectly flat (making mounting and use much easier compared to a cast, unfinsihed type.

4.  Price -  190 lbs cost me $1300 + $167 shipping. I could not find another anvil made entirely of cast steel, let alone a steel made for blacksmithing use, anywhere near that price. Other places just say "steel" and don't identify the type, let alone tell you what steel, or let you identify the metallurgy of the anvil.

5.  It REALLY "rings like a bell" and for about 10-15 seconds depending on where I hit it. Interpreted meaning from what I have learned so far: Its a solidly cast piece of steel without voids or defects throughout the anvil.  Have no fear, lol, I will mount it and deaden the ring once I get the base built.

6.  Rebound!  While some care and some don't, the rebound on this anvil is about 90% from what I can tell.

7. Overall, I believe this anvil is an outstanding product especially for the price, and I can't wait to really get at it.

8.  Shipping is quick, once the process is completed.

There are some cons though:

CONS: