I Forge Iron

Wooldridge Anvil With Possible Re-Work - Need Opinions

Hi all - I found an old Wooldridge and Sons Anvil here in East TN that just looks odd to me.  The sides of this anvil appear normal with the maker mark and 
weight and date marks, but the top looks like it may have been re-done at some point.  No hardy or anything on top, but hole through the front.

The maker mark is different than I have seen in other pics.  This does not have "and Sons" on it that I can tell.  There is another name under "Wooldridge"
but it is hard to make out.  It weighs about 130+ so the weight mark appears correct (I think) but I am no expert on these.

My question is:  Was this a regular anvil that has had a new steel plate put on top?  If so, how would it have been attached?  Was it forge welded just on top?

Also:  This is dated 1847 w "WW" under the date.  Any background on that would be appreciated.

I will try to attach some pics here of details.  

IMG_1222.jpg

IMG_1288.jpg

IMG_1287.jpg

IMG_1292.jpg

IMG_1289.jpg

IMG_1294.jpg

IMG_1291.jpg

Edited by DailyFrame
spelling fix

Looks real suspect to me.  If I had to guess I'd say the new top plate had been perimeter welded to the top of the anvil and that weird support under the heel as well.  Alternatively a casting facility might have cast the extra sections right onto the existing older anvil.  I'm sure you can still get some work out of it, but I'd avoid any heavy sledging...

Any sigs of that support being arc welded vs forge welded?  That's a Weird anvil; but the "core" looks legit. So did the extras get added 100+ years ago or "recently"?

BTW  0  3  2  CWT equals  0x112 + 3x28 + 2 == 86 pounds  looks a bit different from 130# to me!

Any chance of a ring test or ball bearing test on it?

Thanks all for the extra info - very much appreciated.  The odd thing is I see no evidence on outside faces of a weld mark or grinding, but I see small cavities