I Forge Iron

Newbie introduction

Will-I-am

Just wanted to introduce myself to this forum.  I studied the advice of the old timers for the last few weeks before constructing my first forge.  I converted my 10 year old firepit enclosed by 20ft diameter hut with open hole in center for smoke to a forge.  First I dug out firepit ash and sloped walls to center then lined with flagstone.  Then with 1" tuyere pipe fed in 100cfm air with 25$ hvac booster 4" fan with variable control.  Since my property has lots of elm trees, I used bone dry split elm wood to achieve yellow 2000 degree forge temperature on 3/4" stock.  The anvil was a old solid hitch on a round of wood.  I have since ordered a $300 60kg steel acciaio anvil and I will mount on "wrist high" wood round as advised in forum.  I tried to improve the firepit (JABOD) by adding a divider wall in the center of the firepit perpendicular to the tuyere, but unfortunately I packed the elm wood charcoals too tight and either clogged the tuyere or just eliminated any airspaces in the coal bed and wasn't able to achieve the yellow metal but only orange.  Next time I will first vacuum out the tuyere and move the wall back more and not pack the coals as much.  I want to get the yellow color to white.   I have 2 sticks of 3/4 metal with flattened ends and flattened 6" perpendicular to make tongs; I want to pound hole through for the pin instead of drilling.  That bright yellow metal color in my hand awakened something.  Any improvements are appreciated.  

Are your flagstones heat safe?   How is the smoke handling?  You may want to build a side sucker chimney.  An elm log was a traditional stump for blacksmithing due to it's resistance to splitting. What kinds of thing do you want to forge?  How are you sourcing steel?   Have you contacted the local ABANA affiliate yet?

BTW is that Washington State USA or one of the 30 towns/cities named Washington in the USA alone?