I Forge Iron

I apologize if this is the wrong place. 

I have 2 new in the box coil springs from Moog.  They are painted black and not powder coated which makes life easier.  The spring is 5/8" in diameter.

So, my question...how large does the diameter need to be to draw out a 1.5" wide blade?  Will 5/8" be enough?

Using math...

The area of a rectangle of .125" x 1.5" is 0.19 (l x w)

The area of a circle of .625 / 2 (.3125) is 0.31 (Pi x radius squared)

So, if I can flatten it without drawing out the length and just draw out the width, the math suggests it is possible.

It seems like an impossible task to only draw out the width using a forge and anvil.  I am a beginner and have only heated metal and pounded out a couple of points 1 time.  So my blacksmithing knowledge is next to nil.

Thanks in advance for the help.

Andrew

The quick way to calculate this is to use modeling clay. 

Roll into a proper size cylinder and then flatten into a blade. 

Second option is to make a blade from clay and then reform the blade into a proper size cylinder, or original stock size.

Add a little for loss during forging.

Do you have a properly rounded cross peen hammer?  If the metal is there then the answer lies with your skills and equipment.  I will say that for a beginner it will be pretty hard. Especially as there is some length change even when drawing it out wider.

If you find that you don't have enough material, you can probably upset the bar or cut some length of the bar ~3/4" of the way though and bend it back on itself. Then forge weld it into itself to get some extra material to work with. Neither is ideal, but I suppose either could work.

Try it as Glenn/TP suggest first.

Thanks guys!  I cut off 2 10" lengths and plan to take them to the local open forge night to start working on them.