I Forge Iron

Greetings

PatrickM

Hi, I'm obviously new here. Happy Thanksgiving to those that celebrate it. I'm 38, married, kids, the whole nine yards. I live in Southeast Missouri, and my day job is with the Department of Homeland Security. A friend I went to school with is pretty heavy into making knives and selling them, and I thought it looked like something I might like to do (minus the selling part). I'm completely new to forging, I thought this might be a good place to read and learn before I begin spending. Thanks for having me, I'm already learning quite a bit.

Welcome aboard Patrick, glad to have you. We have a number of top shelf bladesmiths and published authors on Iforge. Every once in a while they'll get drool all over our keyboards by posting pics of their work. The knife making section will probably be of interest to you more than others. 

Frosty The Lucky.

On the note of spending.  I've managed to get going by spending almost nothing except on fuel, and lump charcoal is pretty darn cheap.  To give you an idea on what I am currently using:

Forge, the shell is an old propane grill my son scavenged.  ripped out the guts, covered the holes.  used some bricks to make a firepot and filled the rest with sand.  It's a version of something called a JABOD (Just a box of dirt).  There is a whole thread on those here https://www.iforgeiron.com/forum/267-jabod-just-a-box-of-dirt/ .  The air supply is a chunk of pipe (if galvanized clean the zinc off first!) then to a length of steel tubing that came from a dead treadmill.  the blower is an exhaust fan you would find in a bathroom.  All of this was junk lying around the house, leftovers from improvement projects, and so on.  You can pretty much MacGuyver it.  Plenty of people use Mattress pumps, old hair driers, on a you tube video, I saw a guy using an old vacuum.  This is for a solid fuel forge, and I use Charcoal.