I Forge Iron

Anvil ID.

Hi everyone,

I was gifted this anvil from my father the other day, when I received it, it was very rusty and I thought it had no markings. I weighed it, (kinda broke my scale) but I think it’s between 220 pounds and 240 pounds. When I cleaned it I now see letters on the right side (punch hole side) faintly you can see a “W_ _GHT” and on the foot I see an 8. I make knives and swords but admittedly I’m not an anvil expert. Can anyone please tell me an estimated year on this anvil and maker?

image.png

Thank you in advance, Mike

I'm no expert, but the step around base/feet suggests Peter Wright. Which would also fit with letters that are still visible. Looks like a nice usable anvil! Peter Wrights have a tool steel face welded on the top so any grinding done to "clean it" will take years off it's life. A wire wheel is fine, but a few doses of hot steel will clean her up nicely. That's a great gift from your dad and one you'll enjoy for a long time I'm sure. Have you checked the rebound?

By the way, welcome aboard! Take a minute to read the attached thread to help you get the most out of the site.

PS you can attach pictures by dragging them into the text area and/or by clicking "choose files" hyperlink at the bottom of the dialog box. There is a file size limit, I forget how many MBs... but if you're having trouble, try resizing the image and uploading it again.

I would say a Peter Wright from the partial name and the flats on the top of the feet. I hope you have read about not doing any grinding, milling or welding on the hardened face. It's a fine looking anvil and hot steel hammered will shine up the face just fine. Knowing where in the world you are located would help in the Id. More pictures will also help. A shot of the underside of the base may have a clue and the weight is usually stamped on the side away from the one pictured.