I Forge Iron

Bituminous coal/coke- pricing and purchasing in SW Ohio

Hi. I'm located in Cincinnati. I'm very new to forging, and have built myself a forge (not JABOD, weber style grill lined with fireclay). I've moved through a few different fuels, eventually settling on Tractor Supply Company Nut Anthracite at $0.20/lb. However, especially now that I want to try some quarter mokume, I've heard that bituminous/soft coal/coke works a lot better. Does anyone know where to purchase some of that in the general area? Also, what would that cost? I'm on a budget and would rather not go very far over my $0.20/lb. Is that even possible? Thank you

What Glen said. I'll leave my reply anyway since I already typed it haha.

Is there an ABANA group near you? They may or may not be meeting right now due to CV-19, but you should be able to call the forgemaster for your region and ask him (or her) where they get their coal. I'm sure they will be able to help you out. Then once they're having meets again, you should try to attend, maybe make the forgemaster something cool with your quarter-kume when you get if figured out as a thank you.

As a fellow anthracite user (not from TSC, but that doesn't matter) I know the "fun" of working with a sub optimal coal. I will say there are probably work arounds for doing what you're trying to do with anthracite. Perhaps a canister of some sort to hold all your coins and copper strips in? I would use a welder, but you may be able to devise something without one. With that however, it might get a little tricky if you use steel, although copper won't weld to steel, nickel will so I don't know how that would work. Maybe a copper pipe filled with all your stuff? Crimp over the ends, stand it on end and there you go? Still not sure it would work, but maybe...