I Forge Iron

Fisher #6

TravisVT

Hi all. Seems this is the place online to find info on these things. I got this Fisher #6 in a lot I bought which had other things I really wanted. It is frozen and the chain is broken. It has clearly been used through its life but is still in decent condition. I had soaked the threads with penetrant for months but cannot get them to budge and am worried about marring the gears. From what I can see, it doesn't seem to be gummed up, but I haven't had time to apply heat to them to see if they free up (lord knows how much oxy/acet I would need to really warm something this big up enough.) I'm basically wondering if anyone has had success freeing these up or if its worth much if i can't? Should I bother? I will probably just end up selling it as, although it's super cool, it's too much for what I do (I'm a mechanic and metal fabricator, but not on this scale.) If I were to try and sell it is there somewhere that one goes for pieces like this? I know they are worth a lot more working, but I'm not sure thats going to happen. Is there any way to date them specifically? I was unable to find a classified section here and hope I am not posting in the wrong area or breaking any rules. Thanks for any help. 

20201110_155000.jpg

20201110_155023.jpg

20201110_155102.jpg

20201110_155149.jpg

20201110_155306.jpg

20201110_155326.jpg

No, this is the right section. That's an exceptional vise, and well worth getting up and running, regardless of whether you use it or sell it. 

I was going to recommend the soaking, but since you're already done that, I'll leave further recommendations for more experienced others.

You might want to add your location in your profile settings, as there may be people near you who can offer advice and assistance. Are you indeed in VT?

What did people use for heating for the Million years or so before Acetylene was created?