I Forge Iron

Hi everyone, questions on casting

Forging a path

Hey everyone I’m new to metal working and I have gotten myself a cast master propane furnace and have been tinkering with it making ingots of aluminum and copper I’m really excited to see what I can do with this and I’m open to anything anyone can teach me about forging metals also if anyone knows any good places to get tools and supplies in Ontario Canada id really appreciate if you could let me know about it haha I can’t seem to find any shops or anything 

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you'll have a better chance of meeting members who live within visiting distance. Every hour you spend with an experienced smith is worth many times as much trying to figure it out yourself. We're blacksmiths, not carnival sideshow memory types, we aren't going to remember where you are as soon as we open a different thread. 

I hate to break it to you, you being so new to the forum and all but casting furnaces don't make good forge furnaces. Sure they can be MADE to work, just not very well any  more than a propane forge makes a very good melter. 

You can however PROBABLY use the propane burner from your melter in a forge. I can't say for sure but maybe. Check out Forges 101 and Burners 101 for the most current discussions regarding forges and burners. Home builds and commercial forges and burners. There's a lot there, you'll want: a comfy chair, snacks and beverages. 

What else do you have for tools and equipment? 

And just so you know we often type and post at the same time. 

Frosty The Lucky.