I Forge Iron

Bought myself a Hofi Hammer, got a couple questions.

JW513

I bought an official  Hofi Hammer this week. The forged, not cast one. I’m still an amateur, but I always wanted to try one and he’s getting up there in age. Also they seem to hold their value. It’s beautiful,. But my one complaint, is the face isn’t really dressed. Now I now that blacksmiths prefer to dress their own hammer faces to suit their own needs but I was looking forward to getting one professionally dressed. Mainly because I now would have a standard of a properly dressed crosspein hammer. Now the edges aren’t too sharp so maybe this is how a Hofi hammer is supposed to be. Just wondering if this is how Hofi the hammers are supposed to be. Thanks

C458A566-757D-4140-9363-673A4274EBCB.jpeg

1863F216-84A7-44A1-BBCB-54964AF61428.jpeg

It looks nice to me. I'm sure it'll be a joy to use. 

I think more people would be upset if he dressed all of the hammers to his liking. Like you said, most people prefer to dress their own. There doesn't seem to be much needed there, try it as is (maybe just a little touch up here and there), if you find there are unwanted hammer marks, dress it a little more and so on until you're happy with it. Then it's your standard going forward.

While there is arguably a wrong way to dress your hammer face, there isn't really a one size fits all "right" or "professional" way, IMO. 

I agree in all particulars with Frazer's post.  Just to add though:  the edges of the face on a Hofi hammer aren't supposed to be sharp (or on any properly dressed hammer IMHO).  If you look into his hammering technique you will find that he advocates use of these edges as directional fullers (by striking with an appropriately angled hammer head), and sharp edges would make this too aggressive an action.  I'd try it for a bit and see how it works for you.  You can always dress it to suit your style as required.

• 2 months later...