I Forge Iron

Info needed on blowers for coal forge

almostpractical

I recently put together a coal forge from about 20 dollars of scrap steel and other odd bits. For my first day I used an electric leaf blower, what I was originally going to use didn't work out. I don't want that as a permanent solution. I was wondering if I could get some input on what would be good to replace it. I didn't some research and found a lot of information about CFM and what the blower needs to produce when under pressure since I am using coal. The links below are to some of the blowers that have been suggested/I am thinking about.

inline fan

There is also a 6 inch version of that fan for not much more

BBQ blower

I'm trying to go with the most cost effective option. I don't want to spend to much as this is my first attempt at building a forge.

I made my forge out of a brake drum cover, the steal grates melted, I am going to replace them with some fire brick drilled to let air through. But any improvements are welcome.

Thank you for any information and insight

IMG_20200912_173948.jpg

A leaf blower is way too much air. An inline fan will not worksince it can't overcome the back pressure.

One option that is inexpensive and works well to start is a hairdryer blowing cool air. Blowing hot air will burn it out faster. Even a hairdryer on low can be too much air so you want to have a T somewhere with a valve/sliding shutter to vent off the excess. It is kind of loud though. Quieter than a leaf blower, but still loud. Another thing I had that worked for a while was a furnace blower that came out of a fireplace. Quieter, but ended up burning out.

Another thing I have seen recommended here is a cheap mattress blower you can find at Walmart.  

P.S. links to commercial sites (ie. Amazon) aren't permitted on the site, but a brief description of what you're talking about will help others once those links are removed by the mods.