I Forge Iron

forge design questions

Hello, I'm new to the IFI community. I'm getting into blacksmithing and picked up a second hand forge, cutting a few corners to get started. But as I am working on it and learning more I'm wondering if I should start anew and change designs. I'm looking for some commentary and guidance on the design of this forge 

The forge is quite large. The internal cavity is approx 7.5" x 7.5" x 21". I don't like the burners, so I'm either going to machine or buy some Frosty T type. However, the internal cavity is so large that I think even three burners would be too little BTUs. I have sealed the interior kaowool that was in the furnace with satanite but I'm thinking I might need to wrap another layer of kaowool and another coat of satanite to reduce the internal volume, or insert some firebrick to reduce the volume. 

Do you see any major issues with the design here that I should be weighing? I am at the point where I feel like I might want to scrap and start with something smaller. 

IMG_3827.JPG

IMG_3829.JPG

IMG_3828.JPG

The cheapest option would be to, as you said, add some more firebricks to the bottom to decrease the internal volume of the forge. But as it is, it would be ok to use for small objects to practice hammer technique and learning to control the workpiece

Welcome aboard Biggp, glad to have you.

Looks like a forge built by someone who didn't know what they were doing. I don't blame you for not liking the burner shown. 

How much work/time and money do you want to put into the forge? If you have basic shop skills and tools building a T runs about $10 ea. to get one that works like it should. The ones for sale online are a crap shoot with odds against. They're so easy to make lots of guys are selling them without knowing the basic principles that make them work. 

No, don't add more brick. Even if it wasn't a poor way to reduce volume in general more brick would block your doorway and pass through.