I Forge Iron

New member in SW Iowa - new to everything!

Cbrockman

Hello all!  As I said in the topic, I am new to everything in regards to blacksmithing.  I am currently researching what type of forge to build to start.  As I read all of the opinions, seems like it all comes down to personal preference and amount of $ I want to spend.  I hope to learn from all of the members here as I do have a ton to learn!  Anyone in the vicinity of Atlantic, IA - I am always up for a meet and greet to inundate you with questions....;-)

Regards,

Chad

Welcome aboard, the best thing about blacksmithing is there is no "right way" to do things. Some ways are easier than others but you will find six smith's may do the same thing in different ways and have ten answers to the same question. Don't be shy when asking questions just try to do some research first. The best way to search IFI is to use your favorite search engine and add site:iforgeiron.com to the search string. The search function on the forum leaves a lot to be desired.

Forge design depends on what you are making. Gas forges work great for items that are relatively flat and can fit through the door. Solid fuel forges lend themselves to larger items due to no box around the flame. Induction heaters also have their place, especially when speed, fumes, and flame are an issue.

For solid fuel I would go side blast as opposed to bottom, especially for coal since clinkers are less of an issue.

Welcome aboard Chad, glad to have you. What kind of (fuel) forge are you thinking about? Whatever you build making it small to start is a good thing, learning projects are rarely very large. A small brick pile forge works a treat IF you use Morgan, Thermal ceramics, K-26 insulating firebrick, (IFB)  and a small propane burner. 

A JABOD is (Just A Box Of Dirt) side blast forge. There is a thread discussing it and there are even plans. It's super simple and works very well with charcoal and well with coal.