I Forge Iron

Help sourcing clean iron sand.

Hello all, my name is Sean and this is my first post here. Well on to the point. I need some help sourcing as clean and pure as possible iron sand preferably within the United States. I found a college in the region with the equipment to process the iron and make a very clean and simple high carbon steel if I can provide the ingredients. All the places I have found so far won’t give the chemical analysis of the sand, is out of country and shipping is crazy expensive, and or they need me to buy crazy amounts like 25+ tons. Any help to point me in the right direction would be amazing.

thank you,

Sean Dolan

Dear Sean,

As an old geologist I am somewhat confused by your post.  "Sand" is a size measurement of sediment (1/16 mm to 2 mm) which is finer than gravel and coarser than silt.  It can be made of many different minerals, quartz probably being the most common.  Natural sands which are high in iron do occur where iron bearing minerals are being eroded but it is very rarely pure enough to be used directly as iron without smelting to drive off the other elements and is fairly uncommon.

So, are you looking for iron or steel granulated to sand size or something else.

Also, what are you trying to accomplish?  Do you want to make something, such as a blade, and be able to say that you smelted the metal from ore?  If so, that is a pretty complex process which takes equipment, specialized skill, time, and can be dangerous if you don't know what you are doing.  People have smelted small amounts of ore for a long time and various smiths have experimented with traditional ways of obtaining iron.  Then, once you have a hunk of iron you need to convert it to steel.  That is another long and complex process. 

I'm not trying to discourage you but we need to know what you are trying to do before we can offer any useful suggestions.

"By hammer and hand all arts do stand."