I Forge Iron
Sign in to follow this  
Jpnine

Can you forge previously cast metals?

I'm very very new to the topic of metalworking. During my research, I've seen the two main methods of casting and forging. Casting seems simple, you melt the metal in a crucible and pour it into the mold for the shape you want. And with forging, you can have it cold or hot and shape it while it's in the solid state. As I was looking at those techniques, I saw somewhere that you can't really forge with cast iron. But I was thinking you would cast iron into bars so you could use them for forging later on. If not, then what is the process of getting metal from the ground so it can be used for forging? Is there a way to make cast metals usable for forging? Is this only an issue with iron? I'll likely be using aluminum first so I can cheaply make a smelter/forge and practice with it, so I'd like to know if I can move between casting and forging the same piece of metal.

Welcome aboard... Since you posted this in the Non-ferrous Metal Working section I assume you are not thinking of melting steel. Casting is far from simple and a very hazardous undertaking. I have worked in a foundry and can state for sure it is not for novices. The process of getting metal (ore) from the ground is called smelting. Moving between casting and forging depends upon the metal.

Welcome aboard Jpnine, glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header yo'll be surprised how many members live within visiting distance and a LOT of information is location specific.