I Forge Iron

Forge tips/ideas

Phoenix Mason

Hi so im a not so beginner who is looking to upgrade his forge. I had a small forge made out of soft firebricks and it is a bit too small and i would like higher heats with more efficiency. Do any of you have recommendations for how to go on with my next forge? Or if I can get better efficiency with a dual burner design?

Welcome aboard Phoenix, glad to have you. If you'll put  your general location in the  header you might be surprised how many members live within visiting distance.

You're going to have to provide us with more information for any of us to be able to help. Terms like "Small" don't really tell us anything without context. Some guys on Iforge work with forges that would think of the Small forge as the one that only held one rail car's worth of stock. A friend of mine's small forge is 1 1/4" dia x 6" long. 

Higher heats? Same same. More efficient than . . . ? 

If you asked something like. I have a 300 cu/in single burner forge but it won't reach welding heat and goes through a 20lb. tank of propane in about 6 hrs. We can work with something like that, we'd ask you a few questions for clarity and want some pictures. 

We need details and a couple pics.

Frosty The Lucky.

In my opinion there are three easy steps to improving efficiency of a gas forge (most of which will also allow you to operate with a hotter interior as well):

1. Improve the thermal envelope:  Improve the forge liner so there are less conductive losses through the skin of the forge.  Increase the insulation quality and get rid of any thermal bridges that allow the inner heat to be transmitted to the exterior (especially around the openings) by careful placement of insulation and forge structure.  An ideal forge should have a outer skin that is only a few degrees above room ambient temperature.  Most of us are happy with a forge that has a skin that doesn't rise above 110 deg. F