I Forge Iron

Hello from Ohio

Hi everyone, I'm excited to be here as I'm just getting started in blacksmithing and it seems that here's a ton of great information in these pages. Over the last several months, I've started to put together a modest setup and am in the process of making the necessary tools (tongs/punches, etc.) to get into really making things.

I have a background in sculpture and design, but have never been able to swing a hammer with any grace. I'm working on that now.

I hope that as I start to find my legs in this, I am able to contribute to the site.

Welcome aboard Monstermaker, glad to have you. 

There's your problem right there, if you want to swing a hammer you  need to find your hands NOT your legs. :rolleyes:

What are you lacing for your set up? 

Frosty The Lucky.

3 hours ago, Frosty said:

Welcome aboard Monstermaker, glad to have you. 

There's your problem right there, if you want to swing a hammer you  need to find your hands NOT your legs. :rolleyes:

What are you lacing for your set up? 

Frosty The Lucky.

Well, xxxxx You mean I've been doing it wrong all along? Hands, Huh? That explains a LOT! :wacko:

Thanks for the Welcome.

My setup is coming along nicely so far. I bought an old Peter Wright anvil, and 2 hammers - a cheap cross pein and cheap rounding hammer. I've built a gas forge: It's  fabricated steel shell, with fire bricks and 1/2" refractory lining, and a ribbon burner. I bought one pair or wolf jaw tongs that I've used to make v-bit and flat jaw tongs so far. And I've built a 2x72 belt grinder out of mostly scrap from work.

I have a 1 hour lunch break every day, which seems like the biggest waste of time, so I use it for building projects like the forge and grinder. I enjoy that kind of thing.

I'm lacking in hardy tools, which I'll need to address soon. I really need to get a cutoff, and maybe a fuller. I just hate buying things that I know I'll be able to make given enough time and practice.