I Forge Iron

Success from persistance (New guy)

Timski

Howdy,

I've come down a long rabbit hole starting with watching YouTube videos of people restoring old tools which led me down a path of buying a few old tools and equipment (vice, drill press, saw, arbor press, etc.) to enhance my shop. Soon after I started looking more into making my own tools to fix the other tools which led me to blacksmithing. That then started me on a journey of knowledge which led me here.

I'm just dipping my toes in. I've purchased most of what I feel will get me started:

• Anvil (142lb Hay Budden Farrier)
  • Coal forge with hand crank (FREE! just because I brought up blacksmithing in every conversation for months)
  •  Wolf Jaw tongs
  • Kevlar gloves
  • Wire block brush
  • 2 lb Cross-pein Hammer (had this already)
  • bees wax
  • C-Clamp vise grips
  • Books (Backyard Blacksmith 'Lorelei Sims' and The Home blacksmith 'Ryan Ridgway')

Coming from a history of being an automotive mechanic, I have many more tools already on hand as well.

The "only" thing I'm missing is the coal for the forge. (The Streat Fuel Co. in Flint, MI is currently out due to mines being closed down)

Now that that is out the way, I'm planning to soak up as much information as I can, and when the world goes back to normal (post-covid), I'm hoping to seek out a mentor(s) as well.

I will say thanks and I appreciate you ahead of time for all of the guidance and knowledge you are all able to share.

I'd suggest going to the Indiana Blacksmiths Association Conference if they were still having it; and if you wan to see acres of old blacksmithing equipment for sale Quad-State Blacksmiths Round-Up would top my list.  However I doubt these will go on this year. IBA conference has been cancelled already. Q-S is Sep 18-20 this year---if it isn't cancelled.  Perhaps I can get out there in 2021, it's around a 1500 mile drive for me.