I Forge Iron

Newbie here, just bought my first anvil. Cleaning and ID?

Hello,

My first anvil, feels good, feels really good!
Not sure my car agrees though after the trip home!

I want to love it and care for it and have given it a light wire brushing as it was mossy and double painted... 
I would like to know as much about it as possible, i work it out as 326lbs from the 2 3 18 on the side and also that it is probably English because of this numbering.
It has a cross with dots on the other side and JWJ     /\  on one of the legs. I have attached some pics if it worked!

If anyone can help me id it I would be very grateful.

One of the hardy holes is blocked with ?lead, i'll probably just leave that. The other hole will work if i need it.
The chip on the side I will probably also leave I cant bring myself to angle grind her just yet!
I was going to oil it but realised that the only oil i had was either two stroke or mineral oil for my bike brakes! Would either be appropriate or should I go out and buy something specific?

Any advice on how to maintain her would also be greatly appreciated.

I plan on making some knives when I get a hammer some tongues and a forge to go with her (i'll probably make one out of an old propane tank or something coz i'm skint now!).

Thanks in advance. Keiran.

Bottom.jpg

Cross side.jpg

Flat.jpg

Number side.jpg

Top.jpg

Round.thumb.jpg.1355c55cded640e335f3e5e4b19fcbfa.jpg

Welcome aboard Keiran, glad to have you.  Nice score on the anvil, that looks like it has a couple few generations of life in her. Your great grandkids will be bragging on you while showing it and your work off.