I Forge Iron

Help with ID. Possibly Soding & Halbach?

Hi all, beginner here, looking for a first anvil and came across this 80kg one with a (to my inexperienced eye) rather unusual pattern, with an offset hardy hole. The photo of the maker’s mark isn’t great but it looks like S&H to me. The logo looks different to the ones on other S&H anvils I have seen and the pattern doesn’t seem to match others pictures on IForgeIron. Would this appear to be legitimate and, if so, would it be a decent investment for a beginner at £385 

72AE0B31-6D3C-428A-8254-7DDCC73FB0B4.jpeg.e1a04f35441fee189ab87cd789f4f2fd.jpeg

377A954F-6BDA-439C-97EC-885DE5712768.thumb.jpeg.ff0cb37bf00668b33ed2dbe2d6757f8d.jpeg

99A5C9CD-3F42-4184-AF04-9E8DBF36A5BB.jpeg.6e12e2125cbd506c5b812f5fb74fbdfd.jpeg

Thanks, and apologies if I missed some advice for newbies elsewhere.

Jamie

Welcome aboard... I'm sure those who have more knowledge about S&H anvils than I will be along to answer your questions. In the mean time, I suggest reading this thread to help you in getting the best out of the forum. It is full of tips like editing your profile to show your location and many others.READ THIS FIRST

Welcome aboard Jamie, glad to have you. I don't know anything about S&H anvils but that one looks to be in darned good conditions and its obviously been well used. 

If you're talking British pounds then that's a pretty decent price but we don't know what a fair price is on your side of the planet.