I Forge Iron

New here, from the PNW

M.G.

Hey all.. I missed this section the other day when I registered for the forum.  So I figured I should stop in and introduce myself. 

My name is Matthew, I live in the Pacific NW of the USA. You can usually find me somewhere between the mountains and the sea.  Closer to Portland Oregon these days.

I am a tattooer by trade, but making things with my hands has always been my passion.  Weather it is fine art functional art or just functional tooling, im into it. 

Over the years I studied precision manufacturing at trade school for tool and die making, CAD for parts and tooling, CNC programming and machine setup and operation, and QC. 

I have some, but very limited welding experience. In mig tig and arc.

I then shifted my focus more to the visual arts side of things. And sought out an apprenticeship in the tattoo industry. Which I have been deeply committed to as a career for the past 17 years. 

I spent a few years working in a glass blowing studio, blowing borosilicate glass.

Building surfboards has also been a passion of my over the past 5 years. Working g in PU foam, and hollow wooden construction, polyester and epoxy resins for fiberglass and carbonfiber.

Which brings us to this point in time, where I find myself deeply intrigued by moving molten metal to create. 

Over the last couple weeks I have been working to put together the materials and tools I will need to get started. Hopefully in the next week or so I will have all I need to put together a solid fule forge, nothing fancy JABOD. I will be trying to document the process and throw it in the forums for fun.

Over the last few days I have made a few threads here.  And have gotten some really helpful and reassuring feedback.  I really appreciate the input from you guys. And I hope to someday be able to return the favor.