I Forge Iron

Makeshift Anvil questions from a noob

Hey guys, I am very new to the craft, and the forum,  so I hope this is an acceptable place for these questions.

I just picked up a 10" round off cut of steel, it weighs about 100 lbs.

Wanting to use this as a basic anvil shaped object. I figure it has plenty of mass. But what I am wondering is, if I should attempt to heat treat the striking surface somehow?? Or if a non hardened and tempered piece of steel is acceptable to use as an anvil? 

20200518_144104.jpg

As long as it is steel - not cast iron - it will make a perfectly good anvil as it is. No heat treat required. I would build a stand for it and put it to use right away

Those edges, or should I say edge looks a little too sharp. It would be a good idea to round some of it off slightly with a sanding disc. 

Edited by Jonnytait
Sharp Edges

A block of steel that works as an anvil, it is an anvil, no matter the shape. An ASO or Anvil Shaped Object, it is an object that looks like the modern anvil anvil (for example  London pattern anvil) but made of very low quality material (for example cast iron) and it is sold very cheap in the market. An ASO has no use in blacksmithing. Probably you can use it as a door stop or as a boat anchor.

Before you post your questions, make a search in the forum about "improvised", "homemade", "diy" or 'makeshift" anvil. You will get many threads. Here it is one example and good luck in your blacksmith journey

Excellent! Thanks for the input. I will be softening the edge for sure. And I was considering grinding a slight step in to one side.   We will be building a small coal forge next week and start hitting some steel soon!