I Forge Iron

Hello from Central TX.

Sixshooter

Hello everyone, just joined the forum and glad to be here. I live in central Texas, and I am a beginner Bit and Spur maker. I currently build 2 piece spurs and welded bits, but am very interested in learning to build a 1 piece spur,  and forged bits in the future. 

I have a fair amount of fab/building experience, but am a rank beginner when it comes to blacksmithing. I recently purchased a very nice old anvil, and have a small gas forge on order, so I’m really looking forward to getting in the shop and fiddling around with some hot steel. 

Thank you for having me, and I sure look forward to learning from you all, as well as the wealth of knowledge archived here. 

- Caleb 

18 minutes ago, Irondragon Forge & Clay said:

Welcome aboard Sixshooter. There is a section Farriers and horse stuff below this one. There are several members threads, who make some very nice spurs there.

Thank you very much for the welcome and the heads-up, I’ll take a look! 

Welcome aboard Caleb, glad to have you. We LOVE pics and your AVATAR is just a teaser. May we see some of your spurs?

One piece forges spurs? I'm thinking that'd be rowely difficult.:blink:  Button or ball spurs should be pretty straight forward. Split  the stock for the yoke and forge down the shank and finial, (button, ball, your trademark knob thingy) spread and shape the yoke, decorate, easy peasy.

If you want roweled spurs you'll need a thin bridge to forge the shank after you split it though I'd just use a hack saw, open it enough to clean it with emery paper and close it to fit the rowel. 

If a person wanted to punch and drift the shank and forge the rowels with integral axles it'd take some thought and special tooling but be doable. It'd be one heck of a trademark style hand forged spur though. 

Frosty The Lucky.

9 hours ago, Frosty said:

Welcome aboard Caleb, glad to have you. We LOVE pics and your AVATAR is just a teaser. May we see some of your spurs?