I Forge Iron

Why won’t my welds stick?

So I’m a fairly new blacksmith, self taught and I built all my own equipment including my propane Venturi forge.Things were going pretty well until I tried my first forge weld and I just cannot get it to stick, and I’ve tried a bunch of times. Here’s my method, hopefully one of you can tell me what I’m doing wrong:

I take 2 squares of 6mm mild steel and clean the faces on the grinder using a 36 grit belt until they’re flat and shiny. I mig weld them together

Throw them in a preheated forge and let them get cherry red then take them out for a quick brush and a sprinkle of sodium tetraborate decahydrate around the edges. Back in the forge until white hot then out again for a few light taps with the hammer, more borax and back in. Out again when white hot for a few more (slightly heavier) taps with the hammer then left to cool.

I’ve attached a picture of the ‘welded’ faces of my last attempt to give a little more info, any advice greatly appreciated. Thanks

C34F1873-E936-48FC-8412-10DB7C97C7BD.jpeg

Edited by Mod30
Excessive double spacing.

Forge welding is one of those things that's a whole lot easier to learn being taught in person by someone who does it regularly using a similar set up.  For one thing I cant seem to tell if the atmosphere in your forge is reducing or oxidizing.

Anyone in BABA you could meet up with for a little coaching?

I have no experience of gas firewelding, (Don't want to damage my gas forge's lining) but from the appearance in the pictures, they were not hot enough right through, you have to allow the welding heat to soak completely through the joining areas.

Patience is the key, bring it up to welding heat slowly to allow the heat to penetrate/permeate right through, turn over if needed during the process.

This is relevant to both gas and solid fuel forges.