I Forge Iron

Advice for setting up old anvil

I am a beginner getting set up to forge at home now that our club smithy is shut down due to the virus. A couple months ago I was given an old anvil with the heel (and unfortunately the hardie hole) missing. It's still decently stout and has a lot of useable surface, but the edges are quite rough. It would be nice to get at least one area of the edge to be a sharper angle - especially since it's missing a hardie hole. And I'm quite limited in shop space, so having as many useful features on the one tool as possible would be ideal (e.g. rather than set up a second improvised anvil/stand as well). 

Any tips/thoughts on preparing the anvil for work?

I'm mainly interested in making hardware (decorative hooks, latches, hinges) and woodworking & blacksmithing tools at the moment. 

A thought I had was to square off (or a small radius) the broken edge at the heel end and just grind the edges that are splitting open on the sides (to prevent them from tearing off).  It would also be cool if there was a relatively easy way to add a hardie hole, but I imagine that's a more daunting project. 

I had thoughts about tickling part of the face with a belt sander to try to get at least a small flattish section, but gather from what I've read here that that is usually considered a bad idea... 

Thanks! 

Jason 

20200327_162733.jpg

20200327_162715.jpg

20200327_162706.jpg

20200327_162634.jpg

20200327_162811.jpg

20200327_162623.jpg

20200327_162609.jpg

20200327_162755.jpg

20200327_162746.jpg

Welcome to the forum! Your anvil looks a lot like the anvil I've been using for the past year and a half.