I Forge Iron

Flexible Damascus Slicer

Hello, I'm kind of new to forging and all that, but I want to try and make my Dad a knife for his birthday, he is really into barbeque, and the knife he seems to use the most is a long thin blade for slicing the meat off the bone, how can I make this flexible out of damascus, what are some of the best steels?

Welcome aboard snowking jr. glad to have you. If you'll put your general location in the header you might discover the forum members within visiting distance, might even be a bladesmith or two.

How much experience do you have making blades? Forging blades involves a specialized set of skills let alone forging damascus blades. Boning or thin carving knives are more challenging. Forging anything thin is a challenge. Just heat treating thin blades is no trivial thing. 

I hate to say it but you don't sound like you know enough to ask the right questions let alone understand the answers. I'm not trying to discourage you, it sounds like an epic birthday gift for your father. Unfortunately I don't believe you have time to learn the necessary skills. What do you have for: shop, equipment and tools?  If you're a quick study and maybe take a bladesmithing class you can make him a damascus carving set next year. 

I see Steve and I are typing at the same time. He's a world class bladesmith and published author, might buy his books, you could do a lot worse.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thin = Flexible, so you are good there.