I Forge Iron

Old Metabo Buffer Polisher

LUGUS

Hello. My name is Al and this is my first post here. I've been lurking for a few months while getting my smithy ready. I just got an old Metabo buffer/polisher that I need some help identifying. Metabo told me that they sold that product line to another company and I'm waiting for them to tell me the name of it. I'm new to this kind of machines and don't know where to start as I haven found a model number or anything similar online. Hopefully you guys can point me in the right direction. Thanks

metabo buffer 4.jpg

metabo buffer 3.jpg

metabo buffer 1.jpg

Welcome aboard Al, glad to have you. Man, that's a beast is it 3 phase? I'd think there's a model, serial, etc. badge on it somewhere but it may be covered by 30 years of thick paint. Wish I could be  more help.

Frosty The Lucky.

Thanks for the welcome Frosty. Yes it is 3 phase and I'll have to figure out what to do about that. Maybe a phase converter? At first inspection I haven't found any badges or anything on it but you're right there are multiple layers of paint on it.

Yes thanks, the guy turned it on when I got it and it was something else. It'll be a while before I get it running as I will need a Phase converter and with all this coronavirus going on I have more time than hobby money right now.

Ditto Latticino's warning about that being one grabby machine. It won't just throw work across the shop maybe embedding it a wall but it'll grab YOU and probably successfully wrap you around the wheel. It happens faster than you can react, we're talking blink of an eye is too slow.