I Forge Iron

Vulcan Brand Anvil

Hello Everyone:

I am from Tuscaloosa Alabama and I am new to this. I told you all everything I know (about blacksmithing) when I said Hello Everyone. Anyway, I have always been interested in blacksmithing. I finally decided to start collecting a few tools. I just purchased an Anvil yesterday. It's an 85 or 90 lb. It has a symbol at the base of the anvil just below the waist. It is a circle with Vulcan Brand written in it...It also has II & B, Co. on the end of the base below the waist. It appears to be welded at the(or near the middle) of the waist. So I know it is a vulcan. I think it has a design in the middle of that circle as well. I paid $200.00 fot it and suspect that I got taken. It is in fairly good shape. Not a lot of ring to it...hammer bounced/rebounded very well. This all happened on the tailgate of my truck. I figured thnat since it was local (and I could pick it up) I could pay more. So, is this an adequate anvil???

Vulcan anvils are a huge step up from a Harbor Freight cast iron ASO.

They are made with a steel face and horn plate with cast iron body. As such they are a quiet anvil and so good to use when you have close neighbors.

However, the face is generally softer than many traditionaly made anvils and may also be thinner. They are also harder to repair.

I think you paid too much for your location: over US$2 a pound. BTAIM---you have a decent using anvil and can get your money's worth out of it by getting to smithing sooner!

The design in the raised emblem is an arm holding a hammer. II&B is: Illinois Iron and Bolt co.

My travel anvil is a 91# Arm and Hammer (different brand) that uses the arm and hammer logo punched into the side of a traditionally made anvil. Good size as I can move it about easily but it is still large enough to do real work on it. Mine rings like a bell which is a good way to draw crowds at a demo; but I have to wear earplugs or hearing protectors when using it.