I Forge Iron

Set up my first forge, forced air burner question

Welshj

First off- hello all!

Being a relative newbie to learning forging, thanks for sharing tons and tons of your valuable experience.

I found this site after I built my forge...of course. Smh.

I'm still pouring over several years of posts.

Please note that I'm an army veteran- and will gladly take criticism, humor, advice, and general ribbing fairly well if offered in genuine intent. Lol...

Having done months of research, I set out to build my forge.

I've built a cylindrical propane, two burner forced air setup.

I wanted a general, decent size-not too big or small.

It's a 12" dia. tank, 23" long with 2" of ceramic wool with hell's forge 3000 refractory.

My burners are 1-1/2" pipes with 2" flares at the ends capped with flat steel and pattern drilled gas holes.

These are fed from a 2" piped blower reduced to meet the 1-1/2". The blower is an older industrial squirrel cage style... putting out decent air.

Currently feeding from a small 20lb tank through a 0-30 psi guaged regulator... running between 3-5 psi (more or less) at full hot burn.

Ok, so I'm getting decent temps... not welding temperatures at first- due in part to a miscalculation in mixture tube length and my own stupidity. I've since fixed that, and I think I'm burning much better.

But, I'm getting a pretty decent howl or whine/whistle from my burners from time to time. Slight adjustment up or down on the fuel and or air tuning diffuses the whining.

I've used torches, and gas tanks for cutting heating metal most of my life, and have years of experience with natural gas and propane heating furnaces with much smaller scale burner systems- but...

Being a novice at burners on this scale...

Has anyone else ever run into this?

I would assume overpowering either air or fuel would eventually shut down the burners... much like a torch. But is the howling a worry for any other reason than it's irritatingly loud on the hearing?