I Forge Iron

Lever Press?

mpc

This might be a stupid idea but has anybody ever tried making a forging press using a really big lever?

I’m not great at math or engineering but I wonder  how much force could be generated by a device like the one pictured. 

If you maximize the length of the lever and all the little angles and, if the lever was sufficiently strong, I’m guessing you could get it done.

For those of us who can’t afford a hydraulic press it might offer the opportunity to get a pretty good number of presses per heat.  

569CD35D-E85C-4964-9ADF-AD3F788C7CDD.png

I'm no engineer, mpc, but even without a calculator my guess is that Fat Guy in your diagram would need to be 10 or more Fat Guys.  Presses tend to be 20-50 Ton and I'd think it would tend to take a lot of leverage and a lot of weight on the lever to git-er-done.  On a side note, a 5-Ton Wheel Press can do some of the work for you.............but not smashing billets I wouldn't think.

That’s one of the questions I had. How much force is actually necessary to move the metal enough to draw out a billet? 

If you had a “metal smasher” with a business end that’s about 1/2” x 3,” I wonder what it would take to generate 25 tons. 

I’m aware this may be a stupid question. There’s an old joke that applies to me about law school being the home for people with no capacity for mechanical or mathematical thinking. 

I know a bunch of smiths have jury-rigged 20 and 30-Ton log splitters into presses that seem to work, but I certainly don't know how one could make a manual version.  I'm neither an engineer nor a lawyer, but fancy myself a reasonable "git-er-done type backyard engineer" and I don't think I'd attempt making a manual press like that.

11 hours ago, mpc said:

How much force is actually necessary to move the metal enough to draw out a billet?

Blacksmiths and bladesmiths do that on a regular basis with hand held hammers.

Hydraulics and or powered mechanical hammers just make it easier.