I Forge Iron

K23 Bricks for Bronze?

Hey All,
I'm an artist looking to get into hobby scale bronze casting, and I have the option to get some K23 bricks at a good price (about 50 of them for $100).

Trying to do research tonight on whether or not they will work for me, Google kept pointing me to conversations on this forum.. One user, for example, mentioned how his k 23 bricks crumbled in a few months.

Am I crazy to try k23 bricks for bronze casting? It looks like the bricks are rated up to 2300°F.

Bronze melts at 1742°F whereas Iron at 2,800°F, so would I get by at that lower temp?

Thanks for any tips!

Welcome to IFI, Art Student, Thomas is right and the melting temperature is not also the pouring temperature. That means in my case the melting temperature at 1053°C didn’t mean the super heat pouring temperature at 1150°C. Regarding the soft fire bricks K23 there are strong enough to resist the temperature without physic contact. Remember the bricks are worn able when distressed by contact (in a forge) but quite durable in a foundry we talk about.

Have a look and inspiration at the pictures of our foundry. I use the soft fire bricks (1inch) as a flame face with the backup of 2inch 23K ridgediced Superwool insulation.

However read the advice and tips in the ‘casting section’ of IFI to be prepared of any other Health and safety item. There are many more items to take care about, because melting and casting of bronze are no ‘Monkey business’.

DSC00686.JPG

DSC00687.JPG

DSC00826.JPG

DSC00835.JPG

DSC00845.JPG

DSC00851.JPG

Frosty, thanks for loving the Trilobites. At this moment I mostly busy to replicate the existing models by giving workshops (Cast In’s :D) to friends how went home after finishing, with their own piece of bronze sculpture or device. The models already known like the heel axe, the Venus types, the ammonites, the masks, knuckle bones, fibulas, anvil types etc..