I Forge Iron

Take a guess at the makeup of this anvil?

Hello all, it's my first time posting on this site, but I've been a lurker around here for a bit.  I've always wanted to get into blacksmithing, and now that I'm out of college and have a job it makes the whole prospect a bit more feasible for me.  I recently became aware of an auction going on this coming Saturday that appears to have a rather nice anvil for sale.  I asked the seller if he was able to find a name on it, but so far all I have to go on are these four pictures.  The auction is a bit of a drive from where I live, so I am trying to determine if this anvil is forged or cast iron before making the trek.  I was wondering if anyone with more experience can spot anything that may give a clue as to its type?  Any thoughts or input are always appreciated!

anvil_4.jpg

anvil_1.jpg

anvil_2.jpg

anvil_3.jpg

Those edges look sharp even. If you do go to the auction make sure you take a ball bearing to test the rebound. I'd be suspicious until I had reason not to be but that's just how I am. Good luck, and I hope it's a good deal.

Pnut

Glad you delurked good to see you posting. I had to look a few times but that has to be a shadow or something pattern to make it look like the anvil has sagging skin.

It's too grainy to see much. She's seen some use though most of the wear is at the hardy hole sort of like small square stock was being bent in it. One edge has been radiused nicely and I can see very little edge damage. It looks like it sat in a garden too many years.

In general it's a gracile anvil, long thin heel and thin waist similar to my Soderfors. I don't see any obvious forge marks so if I had to guess from these pics I'd say it's cast. It isn't cast iron though, I'd put a few bucks on that, the damage to the hardy hole doesn't look like iron, it looks like steel. 

The horn is still sharp and iron anvils tend to have blunt horns or they break under use.