I Forge Iron

Checking in from Northern Michigan

GolFisHunt

Hi, I'm Dave. I am a serial hobbyist. While helping my brother-in-law empty his storage unit, his wife said "someone is going to have to move this anvil". Down the rabbit hole I go. The anvil is a 108# Peter Wright that belonged to my wife's great grandfather. "What about the forge?" Brother-in-law says. A lever type rivet forge was the next installation. The pan cracked on the first fire. Research, research, research. Found my way here. Built JABOD. Made a few hooks, fire pokers, and a knife shaped object so far. Lurched around here for a couple of weeks, read "Read this First". Time to jump in.

Happy to be aboard.

Glad to have you here, the more the merrier. Yours is the newbie fairy tale. Lucked into an anvil,forge ,and blower. I'm kind of surprised there wasn't a master smith in the storage unit waiting to give you an apprenticeship. ;-) I'm just joking around. I'm happy for you. Most folks don't come into their first setup so easily. I still haven't found a used anvil worth what is being asked for it but I'm happily making due with a piece of rail that's about ninety pounds.

I'm sure you already know there's a wealth of knowledge here. I wish you good luck and remember it's supposed to be fun. Keep us posted on your progress.

Pnut

Welcome to the insanity, just remember, we love pictures that don't violate the TOS. Without pictures it didn't happen.:) The best advice I have is to find a club/group near you and attend some meetings, you will find a bunch of crusty old folks like me to help you out. Pretty sure we have members in your area close enough to visit.

The crack already extends from the rim to the firepot, so it's unlikely to travel further. However, in addition to adding a layer of clay, you can use the existing holes in the rim to bolt on a reinforcing strap, say out of 1/4" x 1-1/2". That will give it a bit more rigidity and help prevent other cracks from forming.