I Forge Iron

Trenton Anvil new to me

First of all... Hello! This is my first time on the site. I just bought my first anvil and thought I would post it. It's a Trenton and it came on a metal base.  The base does not appear to be welded onto the anvil, but for the life of me I can't seem to find what is keeping the anvil and base together. Any suggestions? Any help would be appreciated. 

I am going to try to post pictures. 

20190731_121640.jpg

20190731_120205.jpg

20190731_120356.jpg

20190731_120405.jpg

Edited by Mod30
resize photos

Good score, Ranger, and welcome to the funny farm. If there's no sign of welding that you can see, I would guess just a jam fit. Stick a pinch bar in the crack between anvil and stand and pry away, or lay the anvil on it's side on a few blocks and then beat on the stand. Don't forget, no grinding on the face. And don't forget your ear protection- that baby is going to ring like a bell.

Steve

Thanks Irondragon. I posted with my phone and I think I went past the 30 minute time to resize. It's not letting me. Sorry and I will try to make sure I do that next time. 

Thank you Stash.... I will give that a try. I hope the square plate it's sitting on isn't somehow attached to the anvil in the center of the base. 

Edited by Mod30
remove quote

Someone may also have used adhesive on it. Try heating the underside of the baseplate with a torch. Shouldnt need to get it over 500°f really. Then a pry bar between the two. Probably best done with it laying on its side. 

Nice looking anvil. 

10 4.... I will put a bar to it and some heat.

Does anyone know if these Trenton anvils came red or did someone paint it red along the way? This one has a reddish hue to the sides and under the horn. There are also numbers on the bottom, 214206.  Is that a serial number or does it have to do with weight? I can't weigh it because it's stuck to the metal base.