I Forge Iron

Tom from Los Angeles

Tomas W

Hello all

as the title says. My name is Tom and I reside in the greater Los Angeles area. I am a machinist by trade. I am just now getting into Blacksmithing. 

I have been lurking for the better part of a year slowly gathering information and stuff needed for the craft. 

I have 2 anvils, 1 is a 50 lb Vulcan from the 50’s in very nice shape. The other is a BIC Omaha (Hay Budden) 124# from 1893 or 1894 full wrought. It has had a full life of work. 

I just finished refinishing a Blue Sierra Rivet forge with a hand pump mechanism. 

2 weeks ago I scored a 5-1/2 post vice ir really nice condition. I am on a very limited budget so it has taken a bit over a year to get these. 

I did some forging in High School 40 years ago. Then nothing until 8 months ago when I took an introductory Blacksmithing class. I just signed up for a tong making class for the end of this month. As I plan on making all of my own tools, I figured this is a good place to start.

here are a few pictures of my stuff  I will be setting it all up outside  

Tom

5E67A59A-12F6-4318-AD8B-F3E025758061.jpeg

8B81D6AA-5899-444B-8BF0-FF27A8505DAE.jpeg

ECCF6879-B2C7-4A9F-A227-D946F049D562.jpeg

Thanks for the welcome. Yes the HB has about 1/16” of sway and well used edges. The face is solid and has about 80% rebound. 

I will take a light wire wheel to it. Do not fear. I will not grind on the face!  That I read about in the “read me first” section. 

All I need now is to source some coal. Being in LA that most likely will require buying on line. When I take my class in a few weeks, I will hit them up for coal leads. 

I will experiment with charcoal too. I can get 25 lb bags of mesquite for $10.