I Forge Iron

New with a Kohlswa Anvil (I think)

First of all, I’m a total newb…to the site and blacksmithing.  I’ve been reading posts on the site for quite a while and have enjoyed reading along and have enjoyed the feel and depth of the discussions.  I have read the forum rules and recommendations for getting a along with the community.  It all sounds good.

I’m a long time woodworker and equipment restorer but have wanted to tinker with blacksmithing for some time.   I have done a lot of metal working to support my restorations and in my job (I’m a mechanical engineer with almost 40 years of experience).  I’d like to delve into forged hardware, maybe cutting tools, and wood/metal mixed media furniture.  I’m actively looking for ABANA classes and experienced smiths in my area.  Enough about me…

I’ve been watching anvils for some time and have been alarmed by rising prices and I’m in an area where they are hard to find.  As a result, I went ahead and bought an anvil this weekend that was relatively close.  I suspect I paid too much for it but I’ll survive that injustice.

It weighs 125 lb.  Its top is pretty flat but has been messed with a little.  The guy I bought it from swears he only cleaned up the top with a flap wheel and I believe him.   He treated the body with linseed oil (thus the slight gloss) which I plan to remove.  I feel pretty certain it saw some localized repair welding and light grinding at some point in its past. It has great rebound (80% - 90%) and rings nicely. 

I’m 90’sh percent sure it’s a Kohlswa.  I’ve attached photos below.  The “MADE IN SWEDEN” stamping is very clear.  The crown in the star is also clear but the star is 6-pointed in lieu of the typical 5-pointed stars I’ve seen on most. There is something to the left of the star that almost looks like another stamp but I haven’t figured it out.