I Forge Iron

More Forced Air Ribbon Burner Questions

Chris C

I've read everything I can find, and have done tons of searches and not found my answers or I wouldn't be asking these questions.

I'm a total newbie.  Trying to design my first forge.  From all I've read, I've decided a FARB is the direction I want to go, for my purposes.  I'm trying to get all this "forced air" stuff to make sense in my feeble brain.  It would seem to me that the total area of the holes in the burner should equal the area of the incoming pipe through which the forced air and gas travel.  My forge will end up with a 6"x6"x12" interior.  I've not welded it up yet, but my burner tube is 2.75"x3"x10.5".  Incoming pipe is 2".  The area of a 2" (mine is actually 2.080") is 3.397946614".  I think I prefer smaller than crayon diameter holes so I'm planning on using plastic straws.  The ones I presently have on hand to measure (maybe not what I'll end up using) measure 9/64th".  Their area is .06212622191".  So if my calculations are correct, that would mean I need 54 straws.  That's going to be difficult to cast around.

So, a couple of questions:  First, is it important, with forced air, to match the area of the exit holes to the incoming pipe as I've shown?  Second, with the proposed 432 cubic inch interior of my forge, is the 10.5" burner too large?  Oh, and another thing..................since the forge cavity is square would introducing the burner from the side.........toward the top of the cavity, be more conducive to even heat than coming directly down from the top of the forge, or does it make any difference?

My 2 cents.  I've got one FARB and one NARB.  The forced air is pretty much as Wayne describes.  The NARB is my own modification; an 8 x 2.5" using 122 holes @ 1/8" each.  

On 5/26/2019 at 10:45 AM, Chris C The Curious said:

It would seem to me that the total area of the holes in the burner should equal the area of the incoming pipe through which the forced air and gas travel.