I Forge Iron

Problems with Forge Welding spring steel

I am new to black smithing and I am trying to forge weld leaf spring steel for a project,  when I folded the piece I noticed that there were a bunch of cracks along the outside of the fold,  what did I do wrong, how can I fix it, and what should I do to prevent this issue in the future?

So is this your first time at forge welding?  Many spring steel alloys are difficult to weld to themselves due to stuff like Nickel in the alloy and need either a more aggressive (and usually more dangerous) flux or a piece of plain steel in between the spring pieces; or expert process control.

Cracking is usually due to working too hot or working too cold.

What you did wrong? We need more information.

How can you fix it?  Throw it away and start over. Almost NEVER worth trying to fix an issue like this with the waste of time and the substandard results, faster, easier, better to start over.

What to do to prevent this in the future.  Get good at welding before going to the more difficult alloys, Get good at temperature control before going to the more difficult alloys.  Get a mentor to walk you through a few welds. Not knowing where you are makes it a problem to direct you to someone; shoot, World Wide Web---Australia, Sweden, Chile, South Africa, France---we've even had someone from Norfolk Island post on here before!

Welcome aboard, glad to have you. If you put your general location in the header you might have someone to show you in easy visiting distance. No fooling walking distance isn't unusual. 

Learn to weld on material that welds more easily. Spring steel is medium carbon but not a low alloy, nickle or chrome make things difficult if you don't already know how to weld. Make sense?

How deeply did you incise the outside of the bend before you folded it? 

How aggressively did you clean the joint BEFORE fluxing and closing the fold? 

Where are the pictures?

Frosty The Lucky.